Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Publication: February 7th 2017 by Titan Books

Format: Paperback Pages: 508

ISBN13: 9781785655449

Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. 

Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.Goodreads.

View Post

Share:

Radio Sunrise by Anietie Isong

Radio Sunrise by Anietie Isong

Publication: January 19th 2017 by Jacaranda Books

Format: Paperback Pages: 288

ISBN13: 9781909762374

Ifiok, a young journalist working for the government radio station in Lagos, aspires to always do the right thing but the odds seem to be stacked against him. Government pressures cause the funding to his radio drama to get cut off, his girlfriend leaves him when she discovers he is having an affair with an intern, and kidnappings and militancy are on the rise in the country. When Ifiok travels to his hometown to do a documentary on some ex-militants’ apparent redemption, a tragi-comic series of events will make him realise he is unable to swim against the tide.

Radio Sunrise paints a satirical portrait of (post) post-colonial Nigeria that builds on the legacy of the great African satirist tradition of Ngugi Wa Thiongo and Ayi Kwei Armah. – Goodreads.

View Post

Share:

ARC review: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon (The Bone Season #3)

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

Series: The Bone Season #3

Publication: March 7th 2017 by Bloomsbury

Format: Paperback Pages: 384

ISBN13: 9781408877852 (Hardback)

The hotly anticipated third book in the bestselling Bone Season series – a ground-breaking, dystopian fantasy of extraordinary imagination

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilising the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that 

spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it… Goodreads.

View Post

Share:

The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon


The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

Publication: (this edition) January 12th 2017 by Hachette

First published on November 1st 2016

Format: eBook Pages: 240

ISBN13: 9781484781517

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who’s ever struggled to find a safe home.

Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he’s at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. 

Carrying a notebook that she’s unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck – both talismans of her family’s past and the mother she’s lost – Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence.

As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie’s family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.  Goodreads.

View Post

Share:

Q&A with Katherine Arden author of The Bear and the Nightingale

AuthorBio

katherine-arden‘Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent her junior year of high school in Rennes, France. Following her acceptance to Middlebury College, she deferred enrollment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature. After receiving her BA, Katherine moved to Maui, Hawaii, where she worked every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing, to making crepes, to working as a personal tour guide, to guiding horse tours. After a year on the island, she got a contract as a teaching assistant in a high school in Briançon, France. She spent nine months teaching, returned to Maui, stayed for nearly a year, then left again, wandering. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.’ – The Bear and the Nightingale.

I was lucky enough to snag an ARC copy of The Bear and the Nightingale from Netgalley, if you read my review you’d notice that I adored the book (a 5-star rating is no joke!). Since I loved her book so much, I was eager for a Q&A session with the mastermind behind the book and yay for me, Katherine agreed! Katherine’s responses reflect the same kind of depth and personality she pours into her work, and she was a pleasure to talk to. So, here’s the Q&A, I hope you all enjoy it and consider adding The Bear and the Nightingale to your TBR lists! P.S. I will be giving away a copy of The Bear and the Nightingale on 14th January, stick around to enter!

View Post

Share: