The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon


The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

Publication: (this edition) January 12th 2017 by Hachette

First published on November 1st 2016

Format: eBook Pages: 240

ISBN13: 9781484781517

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who’s ever struggled to find a safe home.

Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he’s at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. 

Carrying a notebook that she’s unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck – both talismans of her family’s past and the mother she’s lost – Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence.

As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie’s family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.  Goodreads.

View Post

Share:

Q&A with Katherine Arden author of The Bear and the Nightingale

AuthorBio

katherine-arden‘Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent her junior year of high school in Rennes, France. Following her acceptance to Middlebury College, she deferred enrollment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature. After receiving her BA, Katherine moved to Maui, Hawaii, where she worked every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing, to making crepes, to working as a personal tour guide, to guiding horse tours. After a year on the island, she got a contract as a teaching assistant in a high school in Briançon, France. She spent nine months teaching, returned to Maui, stayed for nearly a year, then left again, wandering. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.’ – The Bear and the Nightingale.

I was lucky enough to snag an ARC copy of The Bear and the Nightingale from Netgalley, if you read my review you’d notice that I adored the book (a 5-star rating is no joke!). Since I loved her book so much, I was eager for a Q&A session with the mastermind behind the book and yay for me, Katherine agreed! Katherine’s responses reflect the same kind of depth and personality she pours into her work, and she was a pleasure to talk to. So, here’s the Q&A, I hope you all enjoy it and consider adding The Bear and the Nightingale to your TBR lists! P.S. I will be giving away a copy of The Bear and the Nightingale on 14th January, stick around to enter!

View Post

Share:

ARC Review: Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

Publication: January 12th 2017 by Penguin Books

Format: eBook Pages: 400

ISBN13: 9780718182939

Annie’s mother is a serial killer. The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.
But out of sight is not out of mind. As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly. A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be. But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.
Good me, bad me.
She is, after all, her mother’s daughter… – Goodreads

View Post

Share:

ARC Review: The Bear and the Nightingale

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Publication: January 12th 2017 by Random House UK

Format: Hardback Pages: 336

ISBN13: 9781785031045

A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift – a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay. – Goodreads. 

View Post

Share:

Why I Did Not Finish Between Two Fires by Toni Williams

28102212-1Rudy Phillips is the sort of guy who walks into a room and catches every female eye. He has a mesmerizing charm that women can’t resist. Bridget Tennyson, a stunningly gorgeous American is the latest chick he’s got his sights set on. However, she’s not the kind of woman Rudy is used to chasing. She’s a professional stockbroker and owns a highly successful stock-trading firm on an exclusive Caribbean island catering to the superrich. She’s also married to the famous British nobleman, Lord Edward Tennyson. Bridget is crazy about Rudy even though she’s aware that they come from completely different worlds. Rudy feels the same way about her. What’s more, never before has he found the forbidden so alluring. The big question is, can Rudy who is used to having women eating out of his hand, handle a woman like Bridget who is independent-minded, calculating and ambitious? They both know that if they slip up and Bridget’s husband discovers what’s going down, all hell will break loose but it’s a chance they’re willing to take.Goodreads.


View Post

Share: